Hole N" The Rock

One of Utah's most unique and iconic tourist attractions started as a resting point for travelers along the old Spanish Trail as early as 1829. After Mormons arrived in Utah, it became a stop for those pioneers travelling between Moab and Monticello.

In the early part of the 20th century, 80 acres in this area was homesteaded by the Christensen family of Monticello. A small cave in the rock was blasted out by the family to provide a spot for cowboys to camp while driving cattle to the Colorado River. In 1945, brothers Albert and Leo Christensen further excavated the cave to open the Hole N" The Rock, a diner catering to tourists and uranium miners in the region. In 1952, Albert and his wife Gladys moved in and continued to operate the diner together until Albert's death in 1957. In the twelve years prior, Albert excavated 50,000 cubic square feet, creating a 5,000 square foot home with fourteen rooms, a deep concrete bath, and a fireplace with 65-foot chimney. Following Albert's death, Gladys continued to live in the Hole N" The Rock, now operating it as a gift shop and offering tours until she too passed in 1974. The couple is laid to rest in an alcove at the rear of the Rock.

In 2000, the Hole N" The Rock was purchased by Erik and Wyndee Hansen, who have continued Gladys's tradition of offering tours through her unique home. In addition to preserving the Christensen legacy, the Hansens have also added a zoo, two gift shops, and other artistic installations (including the preservation of two vintage neon signs and a 1938 Diamond T truck). As of August 2020, the Hole N" The Rock is open from 9-5 daily, offering 12-minute tours of the home. Additional visitor information can be found at the official website.