American Fork

Mormon pioneers arrived here in 1850 and began a small settlement, briefly known as McArthursville or Arthursville for settler Duncan McArthur before taking the name Lake City. In 1853, Fort Wall was constructed to provide protection from Indians, and on June 4th of that year, Lake City was incorporated. In 1860, the name changed to American Fork to avoid confusion with Salt Lake City. During the next decade, it also became the first city to offer public education in the Utah Territory.

For decades, American Fork remained a small agricultural community. In the 1870s, it became a shipping point along the railroad for mines in American Fork Canyon, and in 1890 a feud ensued with neighboring Lehi when a sugar beet factory was constructed there. By the turn of the century, American Fork was home to more than 2500.

The largest development in American Fork came in 1944, when the Geneva Steel Mill was completed five miles south of town. The population quickly climbed to over 5000. In the decades since, American Fork has continued to experience steady growth, especially as a bedroom community to Salt Lake City. The steel mill closed in 2001, nevertheless more than 30,000 now reside in the city. At its heart lies the American Fork Historic District, which contains several historic buildings.