Jesse Knight, an ardent member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, arrived in the Tintic Mining District in 1896 with little mining experience. Despite skepticism from others, he began work on a claim and unexpectedly struck a rich ore body on August 6. To spite his doubters, he named his discovery the "Humbug" mine. Before long, a camp of around twenty cottages, offices, a boarding house, water system, and meeting-schoolhouse developed called Knightsville. It was notable as the only privately owned mining camp, free of saloons and prostitution, in the United States at the time. This was due largely to Knight's beliefs (as landowner); he also became the first mine owner in the area to cease work on Sundays, instead encouraging workers to attend church on their day off. By 1907, the population of Knightsville had reached 1000, and a new school began construction in June 1909 (though it wouldn't see completion until 1912).

Knightsville's decline began in 1915, when ore began to run out in Knight's holdings. The mines gradually closed and many homes were moved to Eureka. By 1924, only two mines remained in operation, and by 1940 work ended completely. Today, little remains of the former town save for the foundation of the Knightsville School, which is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Tintic Mining District
MammothSilver CityDiamond
Knight Grain Elevator